In memory of Selma Jeanne Cohen, the American Society for Aesthetics established in 2008 a $1000 biennial prize in dance aesthetics, dance theory, or the history of dance. The next prize will be for a critical article or book of distinction published in English in the biennium from July 2010 to June 2012.

The prize winner will be selected by a committee of three members appointed by the President of the ASA and will be notified by September 2012. The award will be announced publicly during the national meeting of the ASA on October 24-27, 2012, in St. Louis, MO. The winner will be encouraged but not required to attend the meeting. The prize may not be awarded if, in the opinion of the judges, no nomination of sufficient merit and appropriateness is received.

The ASA selection committee welcomes published work of distinction that contributes to dance aesthetics, dance theory, or the history of dance. Publication is understood to mean publication in venues with peer review recognized by the scholarly community and that are permanently available to the interested scholarly community of students and researchers. Nominations will be judged based on significance of the topic or issue, quality of the research, quality of the writing, originality, and contribution to the dance literature.

Submissions should be directed to Dabney Townsend, ASA Secretary/Treasurer, at P. O. Box 915, Pooler, GA 31322 or The nominated article or book must be submitted in full. Electronic submissions of articles are preferable, if available, in PDF format replicating the original publication. The deadline for receipt of nominations is August 1, 2012.



Competitions, Etc.

Contact: Organiser: Dabney Townsend